Think factory reset wipes your data from Android phones? Think again | ZDNet
Hojt Communication is a consulting company focused on our clients need to rapidly bring the right product to the right market. We stand out due to our ability to combine skills in strategy, implementation, operations and technology with deep understanding about the connected world and the new levels of security and privacy protection that world brings.
vision,strategy,product,market,business development,marketing,mobility,Internet of Things,IoT,Security
1629
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1629,single-format-standard,stockholm-core-1.2.2,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-5.3,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.3.0,vc_responsive

Think factory reset wipes your data from Android phones? Think again | ZDNet

Researchers have found that 500 milllion handsets may still leave users’ personal details accessible even after a full factory reset.

Source: www.zdnet.com

A simple factory reset will delete everything on your phone, but this data can still be recovered by a really determined user. If you want to be really sure no one can recover your data even after it is deleted then make sure you enable hardware encryption on your phone. 


1. Go to Settings > Security and tap Encrypt phone. This takes a long time, so you need to connect your phone to the charger to proceed.


2. Tap Encrypt phone again to proceed. Some people have noted that at times this doesn’t work right away, and you might need to try it a few times.The process can take an hour, and so you’ll need to leave your phone on the charger and wait.


Once this is done, just reset the phone:

3. Go to Settings > Backup & reset. Tap Factory data reset. On the next screen, tick the box marked Erase phone data. You can also choose to remove data from the memory card on some phones – so be careful what button you tap on.


4. You’ll see a warning screen – tap Reset phone to continue.


5. This process may take a few minutes and your phone should reboot to the state that it shipped in, prompting you to choose language and sign-in all over again.


Congratulations, you’ve deleted all the data on your Android phone.

See on Scoop.itSecure communication

The post Think factory reset wipes your data from Android phones? Think again | ZDNet appeared first on Apptimate.


Source: Apptimate
Think factory reset wipes your data from Android phones? Think again | ZDNet